Last Updated: November 20, 2023

What is the penalty for a third-degree felony?

The maximum penalty for a third-degree felony in Utah is a prison term of up to five years and a fine of up to $5,000 plus a surcharge of 90%. In most cases, the court has discretion to suspend the prison sentence and place a person on probation. If placed…

The maximum penalty for a third-degree felony in Utah is a prison term of up to five years and a fine of up to $5,000 plus a surcharge of 90%. In most cases, the court has discretion to suspend the prison sentence and place a person on probation. If placed on felony probation, the judge can still impose up to a year in jail as a “condition” of probation.

Originally Published: November 20, 2023

Related Articles

Should I start counseling while my criminal case is still pending?
A lot of our clients have asked if they should start counseling before their criminal case is completed. In general, the answer is usually yes. Over...
November 20, 2023
Criminal Defense in Iron County, Utah
Iron County is part of Utah’s Fifth Judicial District. Cedar City is largest city, and home to the county’s two busiest criminal courts...
November 20, 2023
How can I clear a felony conviction from my record in Utah?
The process depends on the nature and severity of your felony. There are certain felonies that are not eligible to be expunged. These include first...
November 20, 2023

Ready to explore our other articles?